Mike Cahill’s Another Earth Opening the 8th Annual Indianapolis International Film Festival

Mike Cahill’s sci-fi/not-really sci-fi movie “Another Earth” has been announced as the opening film of the 8th Annual Indianapolis International Film Festival, which will run July 14th through the 24th at the Indianapolis Museum of Art (IMA), and will feature films from the US and around the world. The full slate consists of nearly 100 short and feature-length films, with a sneak peek at Fox Searchlight’s “Another Earth” on July 14th, and closes on July 23rd with Paul Mariano and Kurt Norton’s “These Amazing Shadows”.

With more films to select from than ever, this year’s line-up – screened in American Spectrum (domestic), Matter of Fact (documentary) and World Cinema (foreign) programs – promises to be the most compelling yet. Titles range from selections featured at Sundance, Tribeca and Cannes film festivals to newly discovered regional filmmaking. Films will compete for Best Of in their respective categories, as well as Audience Awards and a Grand Jury Award for best film of the fest, which carries a $1,000 prize purse.

Festival tickets are now on sale and available in advance at indyfilmfest.org. Regular screening tickets are just $10. Tickets to Opening and Closing Night events (both presented by Just Pop In) include the film and party at $25 each. Festival 10-packs – ten regular screening tickets – are available for $80 and All Access Passes that grant the bearer unlimited screening access and event admission, are $150. IMA members receive a $1 discount on tickets purchased at the box office.

The Line-Up:

Another Earth – Mike Cahill

These Amazing Shadows – Paul Mariano, Kurt Norton

A Bag of Hammers – Brian Crano
Annabelle & Bear – Amy S. Weber
Apart – Aaron Rottinghaus
Conception – Josh Stolberg
Gun Hill Road – Rashaad Ernesto Green
Jess + Moss – Clay Jeter
Littlerock – Mike Ott
Look, Stranger – Arielle Javitch
Lord Byron – Zack Godshall
Natural Selection – Robbie Pickering
The Perfect Host – Nick Tomnay
Prairie Love – Dusty Bias
Turkey Bowl – Kyle Smith
We’re Glad You’re Here – Hannah Fidell

Better This World – Kelly Duane de la Vega, Katie Galloway
Cinema Komunisto – Mila Turajlic
Everyday Sunshine: The Story of Fishbone – Chris Metzler, Lev Anderson
Teta, Alf Marra – Mahmoud Kaabour
Shut Up, Little Man! – Matthew Bate
Summer Pasture – Lynn True, Nelson Walker
The Boys of Bonneville – Curt Wallin
The City Dark – Ian Cheney
The Flaw – Ali Samadi Ahadi
Way of the Morris – Tim Plester, Rob Curry

A Screaming Man – Mahamat-Saleh Haroun
Andante – Assaf Tager
Dog Sweat – Hossein Keshavarz
F*ck My Life – Nicolas Lopez
If The Seed Doesn’t Die – Sinisa Dragin
Madly In Love – Hilde Van Mieghem
Montreal Girl – Jeanne Crapeau
NEDS – Peter Mullan
Small Town Murder Songs – Ed Glass-Donnelly
Songs of Love and Hate – Susann Ruedlinger