The BCC’s Sherlock Holmes TV Series Releases Season 2 Episode Titles

BBC One‘s “Sherlock” TV series, their contemporary take on the Conan Doyle character starring the awesomely named Benedict Cumberbatch and latest “Hobbit” guy Martin Freeman have officially begun shooting its second season on location in Cardiff and London. Season 2 of the popular show will consist of three 90-minute episodes (yes, just three episodes — essentially five or thereabouts episodes per year in American TV terms), and the network has released titles for all three.

Co-creators Steven Moffat (“Doctor Who”) and Mark Gatiss (who also co-stars as Sherlock Holmes’ big brother Mycroft) will continue to oversee and produce the show.

The three 90-minute episodes are:

“A Scandal In Belgravia”
– Described as a “twisted love story”, written by Moffat.
“The Hounds Of Baskerville” – A “Gothic horror”, written by Gattis.
“The Reichenbach Fall” – The finale, written by Stephen Thompson (“Doctor Who”, “Silk”).

Cumberbatch and Freeman return as police “consultant” Sherlock Holmes and and his sidekick, Afghanistan war vet Dr. John Watson, respectively, with Rupert Graves as Inspector Lestrade and Una Stubbs as Mrs Hudson. No word if Andrew Scott, who played Holmes’ archnemesis Moriarty, will also return, though it would be a crime if he didn’t. Ahem.